About ME

Hey beautiful people!

My name is Kamali and I am so happy to have you come across my space! I hope you enjoy learning about my journey as a Woman and as a Sewist. Lets do a quick introduction shall we? 

I am a 30 year old African American woman and I’m unapologetically proud of my Blackness. I take pride in my skin, my ancestry, and our history as Black people in American and the Africa. I do not tolerate anything that sheds harm or hate on my community.

I’ve been happily married to my best friend for 11 years. Sometimes saying (or typing in this case) those years seems unreal. Time has flown by and I’m so thankful I have such an incredible man by my side. We have three kiddos; Alistair, Maverick, and Amethyst. They are my rock and the reason why I always strive for improvement in all aspects of my life. 

My first craft was crocheting in which I began in 2014. Every now and then I still pick up the hook and find a project that catches my attention. A few years later I decided I wanted to learn how to sew. Once I learned about PDF patterns and allllll the things I could make with a sewing machine, I was HOOOKKKED. That was late 2018. It definitely hasn’t been a long time. But man, I have been sewing non stop and have improved my sewing skills and have taken over most of our wardrobe with my makes. 

Things that bring me joy aside from my husband and kids? Sewing, duh. But others are comedy, food, making others smile or laugh, baking and decorating cakes, music, and a little dabble in video games.

My philosophy is to always keep a beginners mind. So while I do loads of sewing, testing and strikes, I can ALWAYS do better. I can ALWAYS learn more. Keeping a beginners mind keeps me humble and opens my mind for more opportunities to expand and sharpen my skills. 

I am thankful that you have come to learn more about me and walk alongside me as I become a better version of myself through craft and life. Thank you! 

Peace & Blessings, 

Kamali